LGBTQ Resources for Pre-meds

Discussion in 'LGBTQ' started by Guero, Dec 6, 2015.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. Guero

Guero 2QT2Bcis Plaidapus SDN Moderator 7+ Year Member

Jan 20, 2010
    Tropical Tropicana
    Hello everyone,

I'm a third year medical student identifying as genderqueer and transfemme. I decided to slowly start coming out during medical school, 13 years after nearly losing my life as the victim of a violent hate crime, with plans to transition shortly before starting residency. It took a long time to overcome my PTSD and move forward to living as my true self. I've spent the last couple years active in our local LGBTQI community and our school's first LGBTQI student organization. As such, I thought it would be helpful to offer pre-meds a list of resources relevant to dealing with LGBTQI issues as they relate to applying to medical school, surviving medical school, and other general issues. Please feel free to send me, @linearbbq, or @tantacles a PM to have something added, as I'd really like this list to grow. Good luck, stay strong, and focus on your goals!

Sincerest,
    G

SDN threads (recent)

This thread discusses applying as a transwoman.
    This thread discusses disclosing trans status in your personal statement.
    This is the current LGBTQIA applicant thread.
    This is a thread discussing disclosing LGBT status in diversity essays.
    This thread reveals perspectives on identifying as LGBT in medical school.
    This is another thread that discusses LGBT experiences as a medical student.
    This thread discusses LGBT experiences specifically at osteopathic (DO) schools.

LGBTQIA Medblrs (Tumblr blogs)
    trans-medicine.tumblr.com (my own blog)
    collaterlysisters.tumblr.com (another colleague identifying as a queer transwoman)

Gender variant, non-SDN resources (original, full list by alkanive)

Transgender: