Life of a First Year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eswiles

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an undergrad a Baylor right now but am starting at UTSW DPT program in May. I was hoping for some sort of view of the first semester/first year of the program? Especially from UTSW grads or students, but also from others.

What is the schedule like for classes typically for the first semester/year? What do weekends look like for you? How many hours are spent on campus per week? Stuff like that...

Just trying to get a feel for it all...

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

"Life of a First Year."

What life?

Reactions: 8 users
You will be studying a lot. If you are not in class, you will be preparing for the next exam or practical. PT school is a job and more because it follows you wherever you go. PT school is like having a 60-hour-a-week job.

However, you will have time to work out and hang out with your classmates. There's no need to study all night and not sleep. You do not have to compromise your health to do well in PT school.

You will have a lot of doubts, you will worry a lot, you will have set backs and disappointments, you might cry, but you will have a lot of accomplishments and success too.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Dont know about the 60hr a week job thing...... everyone`s experience will be different..but if you can absorb information well in class you should have plenty of time outside of class to either work a part time job / dedicate weekends to NFL or NCAA haha

Personally, I started PT school after a career change in which I taught elementary school. And I can tell you without a doubt I had SIGNIFICANTLY more free time in PT school than I did when I was teaching 6th grade haha

Reactions: 1 users
Thanks so much! Just trying to get more of an idea of it in my head. Helps a lot