Likeliness of Getting into Premed

httpsbriannn

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm currently a Junior in high school and I was looking for some advice for applying to a pre-med school. My grades aren't the greatest and I want advice. I'm currently interested in BS/MD programs. I'm interested in these schools: Boston University, University of Missouri-Kansas City, Northwestern University, Florida Atlantic University, Pennsylvania State University, University of Oklahoma, Rutgers, University of Connecticut (BS/MD). I'm also interested in Tufts University, University of Albany, Texas A&M, and University of Massachusetts for regular premed programs. Are these too many colleges to apply to? and what are my chances of getting in?

In high school my grades aren't amazing, I have a 4.2 GPA at my old school because I'm a transfer student, a 4.0 GPA at a community college (so far), but now I have roughly a 3.9 GPA.(I had to take all standard classes since I transferred last year.) My course load is:

9th Grade:

English 9
Algebra I
Environmental Science
World History 2
Health
Gym 9
Latin 1
Crew

10th Grade:

English 10
Algebra II
Biology
US History I
H. Latin 2
Chorus
Drama
Crew

11th Grade:

AP Physics I
AP US History
H. Chemistry
H. English 11
H. Precalculus
Professional Business Applications
Gym 10

and my prospected schedule for next year:

AP Physics 2
AP Computer Science
AP Literature
AP Psychology
AP Statistics
Gym
Culinary Arts

I'm currently taking BIO101 (Principles of Biology) at a community college, and I also plan on taking CHM101 (Survey Chemistry), ENG101 (Composition 1), BIO111 (Anat&Physiology) and MAT134 (Calculus).

Is this a good course load? Should I change anything?

And lastly, I volunteer for American Red Cross, I'm looking forward to volunteering for hospitals and nursing homes this summer. I'm apart of a hospital educational program, and I play two varsity sports, swimming and tennis.