Quantcast

Live/Work in NYC - where should I take my prereqs?

Free Sample Essays
This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

munusen2008

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi - I am new to this site, but so far I have found the posts very helpful.

background: I did my undergrad at Cornell U. in Computer Science and received a BS with a 3.7 GPA. I have been working at the same financial services company for the last 5 years as a software engineer. I can't see myself doing this type of job in the future and have always wanted to become a doctor since I was young and want to pursue that dream now. I have a lot of physics credits (AP & college courses), math credits (AP & calc) and I have a college level Chemistry class. However, I don't have any biology or organic chemistry.

question: I live & work in New York City and was wondering if anyone has advice for where I should apply to take my prereqs.

Thanks for your help!
- Munu

student1799

"Señora” to you, hombre
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
question: I live & work in New York City and was wondering if anyone has advice for where I should apply to take my prereqs.

One word: Hunter. Don't listen to anyone who tells you to go anywhere else. I mean it.

I didn't go there, but wish I did. I know a few people who did, and they had a great experience and got into med school. There's no competition to get in: you just register as a non-degree student and get going. Plus it's WAY cheaper than that famous private school on the Upper West Side (the one I went to, which charges $1200 per credit).