loan consolidation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chicubs1116

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey I am a fourth year medical student right and am looking around at different loan consolidation plans. I was wondering what others have come upon. The best I have seen so far is from UHEAA, Utah Higher Education Assistance Authority, where they take 1.25% off for direct deposit payments and another percent off after 48 on-time payments. I was wondering if anyone else has had any experiences with them.

Members don't see this ad.

That seems like a great deal for the direct deposit reduction - most seem to only offer a 0.25% reduction, and the most I've previously found is a 0.5% reduction from "Educational Loan Company", which has better terms than Sallie Mae and other large lenders, but I am weary of trusting them (https://secure.educationalloancompany.com/consolidationloans.asp)

I have no experience with this UHEAA, but their website looks helpful. I assume that you don't need to have anything to do with Utah to use them to consolidate loans. The 48 months of payments before the additional reduction is on the long side (I've seen 24 months), but I'd say the direct deposit benefit outweighs this.

a guy from graduate leverage came to our school to talk to us about consolidation. It was amazing. www.graduateleverage.com

Their history is on the website and it's pretty interesting. Essentially, it'a a bunch of Harvard MBA students that did research on graduate student loan consolidation....and found out some 'interesting' things. So, they started a business to help grad students consolidate - finding the best company with the best rate. You give them your info (as you would a loan consolidation company) - they access your loan history and then contact you with what companies would be compatible with your situation...