Loan repayment options if joining group practice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shahseh22

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I wanted some advice. I finished my child fellowship and have been doing various locums since I graduated this June. I was thinking about doing the PSLF and joining VA full time to do so, but I enjoy working with CAP population too much. I have heard that I could do private practice and do better than I would if I work for someone, but I don't think it's feasible in my area (Southern California). I have about $240k in Student Loans and about 5.5 years more of PSLF. I have looked into some options with working with bigger organizations (like Kaiser) but honestly didn't feel like a good fit for me. I was wondering if anyone knows of group practices that would pay up loans up front with one signing a 3-5 year contract? I'd even be ok with a lower salary but want health benefits. I'm just looking to see what options I have. I've seen some options where people give bonuses (like $15-40k a year), but I really want someone to honestly just take care of my student loans so I don't have this burden following me for the rest of my life.

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think anywhere is likely to offer that (though would be very interested to hear if I am wrong). Imagine the nightmare of trying to re-collect the money from you if you choose to back out of the contract! And from your end, imagine committing yourself to work for that group No Matter What because they repaid your loans, no matter what kind of abuse they might heap on to you.