LOANS and FINANCING MY FUTURE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

krbirc03

krbirc03
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm trying to plan out my financial future so I need a little advice. I will have some undergrad loans to pay off since i am graduating in may but they are Stafford, which means they are interest free as long as I am a fulltime student, that means med school. So My Grandparents said they would help me out (long story) and give me 10,000 to pay some of them off. So i'm thinking of putting those bucks in a fund so it can earn interest for me so when i'm out of med school I'll have the same amout of loan debt, but a larger sum of money to pay them off? Does this sound like a logical plan? But I need to know how long to take the fund out for....5 years? sound good? This may seem like a stupid question but all four years of med school counts as being a full time student right? And then when you do your residency you are not considered a student and you have to pay up on your loans if you have any. I would like other's input and plans of attack.

Members don't see this ad.