Loans for Canadians!

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Eye-Spy

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi all,

I am a Canadian planning on heading to opt school at ICO in the fall, and i have some questions about student loans that are available to Canadians studying in the US.

I know that three main sources of funding available are CanHELP, student lines of credit from banks, and Canadian federal student loans. I'm most interested in the differences and pros/cons between CanHELP and lines of credit as I'm from Ontario and OSAP will not make too much of a dent in my expenses.

I totally appreciate any opinions and information that anyone has... i'm new to this finances business and i'm just trying to get things sorted out in my head so i can pursue my options.

Thanks Much!!!!! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Ive been adviced agianst CanHelp by alot of ppl. I dont recall the reason why, but I still have the package. I think its something with the way that they calculate intrest and how much you have to pay back? As for lines of credit Ive gotten 2.... which should cover. But im taking out federal loans as well. This is because with lines of credit you have to pay the interst back right away, and with federal loans its no payments until 6months after you graduate.

Also speaking of fedral loans... I cant seem to apply till May 1st this is the case for everyone?

Ive been adviced agianst CanHelp by alot of ppl. I dont recall the reason why, but I still have the package. I think its something with the way that they calculate intrest and how much you have to pay back? As for lines of credit Ive gotten 2.... which should cover. But im taking out federal loans as well. This is because with lines of credit you have to pay the interst back right away, and with federal loans its no payments until 6months after you graduate.