Local Anaesthetic Toxicity question..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CavGas

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings to everyone in the forum!

I am still an unwise resident so I would like anyone with experience to comment..

After I read about lidocaine infusion benefits in open colorectal surgery I 've been convincing some of my more ''open minded'' attendings to run it intraop and in PACU in selected patients with no liver disease, at 2mg/kg/hr IBW. My issue is that surgeons regularly infiltrate the wound with 0.375% ropi, usually at a total dose of 75-150mg, during closure. Could this combination of local produce LAST? Should I tell them to omit the local or is it fine since SQ absorption is so slow and we d/c the IV infusion upon discharge from PACU?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Wouldn't your open colorectal surgery patients be better served with an epidural or TAP blocks for post-op pain management?

Or better yet, robotic-assist procedure + TAP blocks post vs open?

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
What you are describing is done very commonly at many places.

There's decent evidence for it. It's not as good as an epidural. May be better than TAP blocks, though. Helps with not only analgesia, but potent anti-inflammatory and anti-NMDA. Call it a "poor man's epidural". Where lidocaine infusions really shine are as part of a overall multi-modal approach. I've seen some pretty amazing wake-ups and POD#1 patients with high satisfaction when they had an intra-op combination of lidocaine, ketamine, precedex, NSAIDs, and acetaminophen - with very minimal opioids. And when they do get the opioid they are more naive to it so it seems to work better at lower dosages.