long story...insight appreciated

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smmer10

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Helo all,

Im new to SDN, but I've been browsing the forums for sometime now!
Anyway, here is my story:
I graduated from cornell about 3 years ago and was premed. I didnt do so well in my science classes (think C's maybe a couple of Bs) but I stuck with it perhaps because I didnt know what else to do. No other career options out there appealed to me and I really thought that I would be fulfilled as a physician.

I should at least say that I was depressed all through college not only because of my grades, but I just never really thought I was as smart as my classmates. Yes, I've learned now the power that comparisons to other people can have, but I didnt realize it then. When I was in undergrad, I would be fixated on how long it was taking me to learn the material that I got fed up and just gave up. I would go on the computer and usually my days were filled with just endless hours of sleep.
I usually dont even remember going to class that often...I was usually just too tired.
Anyway, I am in a post bac program right now and things are not going well. I made all As and 1 B last semester, but because of my terrible gpa (2.6) and even more terrible science gpa (2.4), I just know what to do.
I enjoy the material very much, but I have difficulty focusing because I just think about how upset with my llife I am. I dont have many friends at all, I dont really fit in that much, no relationship, etc etc.

I really like the interaction with patients when I volunteer, but I am always so depressed. I know I have not really elaborated on why I want to be a physician (nothing extraordinary, just I really love learning about physiology and I like learning about diseases, and helping those who cant help themselves).