looking for away rotation as resident

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TomSilverman1980

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am looking to do an away rotation at an academic program in internal medicine or one of its major subspecialties (cards, pulm/cc, hem/onc). I am in third year and planning to work as a hospitalist. Any recommendation for a good academic hospital they welcome residents coming from other programs for away rotation? Preferable somewhere in OH/IN/IL/KY/MI.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

I am looking to do an away rotation at an academic program in internal medicine or one of its major subspecialties (cards, pulm/cc, hem/onc). I am in third year and planning to work as a hospitalist. Any recommendation for a good academic hospital they welcome residents coming from other programs for away rotation? Preferable somewhere in OH/IN/IL/KY/MI.

Thank you.
As an IM resident? Why IM? sub specialty I get if you are looking to do fellowship, but…?

"Why" is the most important question here.

You're definitely not going to have the option to go do a wards/ICU month as a resident somewhere else. That's just not going to happen.

If your residency program doesn't have fellowships in one or more of these IM sub-specialties, then you may be able to find a place to do an away rotation in that, but those are generally for people hoping to match one of those sub-specialties who need the exposure and LOR, not for someone planning to be a hospitalist.

So I guess, what's your angle here? What do you hope to get out of it?

Members don't see this ad :)
I am in a community program where I feel the electives are weak especially cardiology, hematology/oncology and GI. For that reason, I thought of getting good exposure in cardiology in some academic program to be better equipped as hospitalist. Thank you