LoR: From the PI, or from the Postdoc?

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by coffeebeanjenn, Jun 1, 2008.

1. coffeebeanjenn

Resident [Any Field]
    Hey!

Five years ago I worked in a lab (during undergrad) closely with a Postdoc who is now an Assistant Professor at a different school. I hardly interacted with the PI of the lab... should I ask the PI for the LoR because it was his lab, or should I ask the Postdoc? I believe the Postdoc will write me a more sincere LoR... but I also had the PI for one of his classes and got an A.

PS I searched around for a thread on this already but didn't find anything. Although my SDN searching skills are not fully developed yet.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Lacheln

Lacheln Cavorting in the Hills

Resident [Any Field]
    How about both? PI = Academic letter with a tinge of research and Postdoc = research.

4. coffeebeanjenn

Resident [Any Field]
    Intriguing solution. You don't think it would be too redundant? For my top choice, I need between three and five letters... here's my list of possibilities.

1. Current grad school adviser (also did well in two of her classes)
    2. A different PI that I worked with closely my senior year and who I think will write me a really good letter
    3. The instructor of the bio lab class that I TA'd for my senior year
    4. PI already mentioned. Not a lot of contact, but I also did well in his class.
    5. Then-Postdoc already mentioned. Worked together closely.
    6. Current employer, best "non-science" option, should I need one. I'm assuming I will... but I haven't been able to find the exact requirements anywhere for KU.

5. tbo

tbo MS-4

Medical Student