Dismiss Notice
Check out the new Application Assistant, where you can calculate your LizzyM score, see how you rank compared to other applicants, and see a list of schools where similar students were accepted.

LoR requirements

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical Osteopathic [ DO ]' started by BobTheBuilder34, 10.29.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. BobTheBuilder34

BobTheBuilder34

Pre-Medical
    Hi, I'm new to SDN and had a question about LOR. I know most schools will allow you to substitute a pre-medical committee letter with 2 science faculty letters. However, I only have one faculty letter, but multiple physician letters. Are there any schools that will except 1 science+1 physician in substitution of a premed committee letter?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. baxt1412

baxt1412 Liftus Maximus 2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Do not think I have seen one that makes that distinction. Best to just get another faculty letter

4. DaddyBex28

DaddyBex28 2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    It depends, you should personally ask the schools that require two letters from faculty and explain your situation.

For example, I'm a non-traditional student and I explained that it had been awhile since I had taken classes and it was proving to be difficult to retrieve a letter of recommendation for a second faculty member.

Some schools said my application would not be complete so I just didn't finish my app there. Others said it was fine and informed me that I just to submit the required total amount of letters and to let them know when my secondary was submitted so they could take note of the letter change on my app.

5. baxt1412

baxt1412 Liftus Maximus 2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    OP, are you a traditional applicant? If so, there is no reason why you shouldn't be able to get another faculty LOR.

6. pollos

pollos

Medical Student (Accepted)