LORs - When to ask?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pomona2006

UC Davis SVM c/o 2013
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been thinking about when to ask the vet I've been working with for a letter of recommendation and would like your advice. I've been volunteering with her for 7 months (enough for her to say good things) but I've been hired to work this summer full-time, which makes me think that she'll be able to say better things after that. The job will last until the end of August, so I could ask her for a letter now, in a month, 2 months - when??? I'm not sure what would be the best idea. What do you guys think???

Also - because I'm a non-trad student, what would you guys recommend as for other LORs - should I go for someone in my previous field or would that be weird? Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

You might want to let her know that you'll be requesting a letter from her now to at least give her a heads up. That way she can be paying more attention to how you work in order to write a more accurate letter. It would probably be a good idea to say that while you aren't expecting a letter next week, you'll be hoping to have one from her by the end of the summer before applications are due. It can take people with hectic schedules a while to write a good letter, so I'm sure she'll appreciate the advance notice. It's generally not a good idea to ask someone for a letter out of the blue two to three weeks before you need it. It'll make the process a whole lot less stressfull for everyone involved, including you because you'll know that your letter is in on time.