Lost internship at MD Lab-- now what?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Derma.devil

Reaction score
Hey guys,

To make a long story short I am a pre-med student. I was apart of this amazing DREAM MD lab as a intern doing microbe techniques and molecular bio stuff. I made a big mistake ( I suppose) and the PI was gracious to give me another chance to redeem myself. Unfortunately it wasn't enough and I was let go from the lab and not to return this semester. I was kinda bummed- but not surprised because I was also dealing with schoolwork, a job, the lab position, and mental health stuff. I am not sure what to do from here as I was hoping to get a letter of Rec from the PI. I feel like Im done with lab work for the rest of my career, but I feel sad. What should my response be? Should i still try to get a letter of rec or maybe tips on how to improve? Should I bother to look into different labs?

As reference I feel like I need an experience that lasts a really long time to show my commitment-- All my ECs except for a few, have lasted only 6-8 months and this was the second lab I had been in. Any advice where to go from here ? :(

Thxx

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys,