Low Gpa 2.1 international dentist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lilimmm

Reaction score
hi all
I’m international dentist with low gpa 2.1, passed nbde1 with one year dental assistant experience. R there any chances to get in a dental school?

Members don't see this ad.

hi all
I’m international dentist with low gpa 2.1, passed nbde1 with one year dental assistant experience. R there any chances to get in a dental school?
Where are you from?

Are you serious? How do you expect to go through the rigorous curriculum? If you fail the school you will be in a significant debt without much chances to pay it off.
Apply to hygiene school. Easier and cheaper

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
hi all
Yes you have a chance...Do not let any pessimist deter you or your dreams here. The dentist I work as a DA in his clinic here in Texas is a FTD that attended a top school on the east coast, 2.2 GPA and graduated with great grades, currently has 3 clinics here. You can do a Masters, get more experience as a DA, get involved in research and publications, ace your TOEFL, get your boards in one attempt, preceptorship, great SOP and volunteering will take you a long way. I have a 2.56 GPA myself but I have a MPH with a 4.0 GPA, a dental assistant and 100+toefl, 1 research and so far this cycle got two interviews that I am waiting for results on. So don't let anybody tell you otherwise. It is very possible to get in. ECE just brandishes numbers and many times do not understand that grading across schools vary not to talk of different countries and does not in any way determine whether you will be successful or not. I have some friends with 3.7+ GPA from certain countries that took NBDE several times before passing it, while I took mine just once while working full time and going to school and passed once. So again, listen to your inner mind and do what is good for you and your family!