Low GPA and applying to pharmacy school. Advice and Experiences?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

beatrocka

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to this site, and I am happy that I can talk and ask for advice here.

I'm in my senior year at a 4 year college and plan on going to Pharmacy school next year.

I have a GPA <3.0, and I'm taking some classes over, like Orgo 1, Public Speaking, and I'm also taking more classes to up my GPA

I've been a certified pharmacy technician for about 4-5 years now, and I plan on taking my pcat's mid this year.

I'm curious if anyone on here has been in a situation similar to mine, or if anyone can give any advice. I'm open to thoughts and suggestions, especially to current students.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

boost mainly ur prereq and try to do something special. Hopefully you have a nice personal statement also. You should try switching this to the normal prepharm room, ull get more advice over there.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was recently accepted into Pharmacy school. I had a 3.5 GPA for my prereqs, but I didn't have my Bachelor's degree. I believe what gave me the edge was my personal statement. I had expressed how hard I worked to achieve the grades, my circumstances growing up, and my life experiences. Just be honest to them, and express how passionate you are in your endeavors. Trust me, I wasn't expecting to be even granted an interview, but I took full advantage when it presented itself. On a final note, make sure you do well in Organic chemistry. My school was waiting to see how well I had performed in the course. Good luck.

Yea my pharmacist told me that you wont even use that much O chem in pharmacy, but they want to see how well you do on it because it tests ur analytical skills. Im in the same situation as you right now so i know how it feels. It's a tough road but if we keep trying, we will get in.