Low GPA entrance success to Carribbean?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vbpatel

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated this year from the University of California Irvine with a 2.4 GPA and failed miserably to get into any US pharmacy school...so I was curious, dependant on a decent/above average MCAT score, do you think I would have a chance in getting into SGU, or any of the top 4 carribbean MD programs?

Members don't see this ad.

Honestly, probably not SGU. Their average is around a 3.4/26 these days, however most students are not neatly within this range. Anecdotally, it seems most students at SGU fall into 3 categories:

1) Impatient students; plenty of kids heading to SGU are feeling the effects of the increased competition for getting into med school here in the US. I've met people who have, at least claimed, to have competitive GPAs and MCAT scores (>/=3.5, >/=29). Some of them were waitlisted and didn't want to reapply, some were just outright rejected. I think this is the minority, but certainly a growing minority.

2) Low MCAT; this is also a form of impatience. The reason SGUs average GPA is pretty decent (3.4 or so) is because a lot of 3.6+ students decide to go to SGU after they get killed by the MCAT. If you have a 3.6 or so, SGU will pretty much overlook your MCAT. They aren't desperate for students, though, so you'd still want to have over a 22 or so to get in with a good GPA.

3) Low GPA; along with low MCAT applicants, this is probably another popular reason for going there. When I say low, I am talking around 3.0-3.1. Usually students this low seem to have really competitive MCAT scores (30+s).