low gpa, low mcat

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopef

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm very new to this and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

3.3 overall /3.1 science
MCAT: 23M (i know this is very bad)
Major: psychology

I'm re-taking the MCAT on July 30 but I want to start applying in June. Is this a good idea? I'm pretty sure that I will do better than a 23. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

It's "okay" to apply in June first with 1 school just so your application can be verified, and then depending on what your MCAT score turns out to be, you can add additional schools after that.

But I just want to make sure you're aware that taking the MCAT in late July will mean that your application won't be looked at until probably September at the earliest after your MCAT score comes in and you start receiving/turning in your secondaries? With most schools operating under rolling admissions, that means your application is going to be at the bottom of a huge pile. Given the fact that your GPA is pretty low, a late application can really hurt your chances even if you score well enough to offset that GPA a bit (34+). Do you at least have a steep upward trend in the GPA? Any stand-out extracurriculars or research? Disadvantaged or URM status?

Are you applying to DO as well? I would encourage you to do so.

Last edited:
I see little possibility for success from an application which is below average submitted relatively late. There would have to be a remarkable story behind it if it were to get a second look, and even then... unlikely.

Without a more than 10 point increase in MCAT, I don't see a point in submitting an application this year.

Members don't see this ad :)