Low PCAT Score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coduyen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I found out my score today for the Oct 17 test. My composite was a 71. I graduated from UT Austin with a 3.64 GPA. Prereq probably around 3.5. Can I get into pharmacy school with these scores? I am kind of sad that I studied so much for the PCAT and got a 71.

Members don't see this ad.

So I found out my score today for the Oct 17 test. My composite was a 71. I graduated from UT Austin with a 3.64 GPA. Prereq probably around 3.5. Can I get into pharmacy school with these scores? I am kind of sad that I studied so much for the PCAT and got a 71.
The scores aren't up on pearson's website and scores are mailed after scores are posted online. :confused:

I think it depends on the schools you apply to and what they're stats are. Personally, a 71 is not bad at all especially if it is your first try! but if you are sad then take it in January.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think it depends on the schools you apply to and what they're stats are. Personally, a 71 is not bad at all especially if it is your first try! but if you are sad then take it in January.
I agree. I scored a 74 on my first shot. UK is suppose to be like #5 pharmacy school (or so) in the country and their mean acceptance pcat is 75.

Illinois schools seem to take mid 60 range scores and up so I would be satisfied with that score. But if the school you want to get into has a higher GPA average and PCAT average then you have then I guess it wouldn't hurt to try and improve your PCAT score. Getting it up three to five points should be doable with one to two hours of study every day until the January PCAT.