Low step score? Psych or no?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JoseyCali123

Reaction score
I got a 215 for step 1. Do I have a chance at Psychiatry? Do I have a chance for California? Currently goes to a Northern California medical school. middle-tier school.

Members don't see this ad.

I doubt it. California is where all the genuis stay. Why such a low score though?

you really think I have no shot to apply to psychiatry or stay in California? yeh unfortunately not the best test taker...

Members don't see this ad :)
No i don't. I am not an expert on residency. I am still a first year myself. My comment was mostly based on the fact that California is the most competitive state.

But you still have a shot, if you nail your PSYCH rotation.
you really think I have no shot to apply to psychiatry or stay in California? yeh unfortunately not the best test taker...

Yes u have a shot at psych and a shot at psych in Cali. Do better on step 2 and get good LORs.

Reactions: 2 users
do you guys think i can still match in psych at another state? im willing to go anywhere

yeah you've got a great shot if you want to go to another state. don't know anything about cali, but I'm applying with marginally better step 1 and got a fair amount of interviews at some pretty solid academic programs

I scored just a few points higher than you and have been very happy with my interview invites (including from Cali) as a current fourth year from a state school in the South Central part of the US. California is definitley an option! Apply broadly and write letters of interest for places you're truly keen on. Aways can help open doors. Best of luck and feel free to DM me with specific questions!

I scored in the same ballpark as you and did MUCH better on step 2. I applied very broadly and ended up with 11 interviews and cancelled one. I think I'll be fine even if I end up staying at my home program (which is awesome).