Low UGPA with Special Circumstances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theveganabolitionist

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! This is my first time here, but I thought I would pop in, say hi, and hopefully get some help from people who know a lot more than me.

So I'm a 24-year-old woman from Ohio, and I graduated from undergrad with a non-science degree in 2013 - philosophy, specifically. I attended a private, liberal arts college. I am planning on enrolling in my local community college to complete some science courses, as I have been planning to pursue a vet tech degree. But lately, I have been considering whether or not pursuing life as a DVM might be what I really want. I LOVE veterinary medicine, having spent the last year and a half working in a clinic. I'm fascinated by parasites and illnesses and I love puzzles. Truthfully, I think I could be happy, in different ways, being a doctor or a tech. But I'd like to know my options, you know?

Now here's the catch. My UGPA is VERY low - 2.65. I'm sure I could bring it up as high as a 2.85 or 2.9 by doing my pre-reqs, since I'd have to take almost all of them anyway. There were, however, serious extenuating circumstances that caused this. Specifically, I am Bipolar, but was not diagnosed until two months before my graduation. I also herniated a disc in my back in my second year. I am also an abuse survivor. So yeah, there was a lot going on. =P