MA vs Medical Scribe: which one is better for clinical experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mmssjj

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have two options for my gap year jobs. I am studying for my MCAT and planning on take it next February, thus both of the jobs are part time.

MA job: This job is at a private ob/gyn doctor’s office. As a medical assistant, my role would be chaperoning the patient to the exam room, preparing the exam room, and being present and assisting doctor in the exam room during procedures like pap smear and others. Additionally, I would be in front desk duty for once a week where I would be making appointments, sending lab order etc. It is a part time 20 hours a week job for a year. As it’s a very small office and me being the only MA, I would be able to develop good connection with the doc and get a good LOR. Though my school does committee letter and I don’t know how relevant clinical LoR in this case.

Scribe Job: 32 hours a week but will be doing this job for 6 months and quit to better prepare for MCAT. It is an internal medicine outpatient practice for a NYC hospital under scribe america. Probably, won’t be able to secure a doctor LOR due to not staying till i apply for medical school next 2025-2026 cycle.
For the context, I have 80 hour emergency room volunteering experience so far for clinical experience. I am studying for the MCAT and also doing non clinical volunteering alongside the gap year job. I would highly appreciate if anyone could provide some guidance on which job would be better for clinical experience and also for my situation. Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)