major for pre med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

allowat2

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I am currently an EMT-B I have been working in a 911 system for about a year now and have decided to do my premed. I have a couple of questions.
First I am starting off in community college to start to get my core courses for a undergraduate any views on if CC is a bad idea or not? Second I am debating what to major in as I have researched 51% of med students were science majors so the remaining 49% were non science. I've heard that spanish is a good undergrad because then you can speak another language and maybe also volunteer while in undergrad for things such as humanitarian missions. I also have seen that some medical schools do not require a undergraduate, just wondering if anyone knows if anyone has actually been admitted without an undergrad and if so what were there stats? I am currently a 21 year old I am an eaglescout have 2 years experience in 911 Ems and will be getting hired for an ER TECH job next month. I was a lifeguard in Boy Scouts. Please if you have any input or advise not only on the questions I asked but also on things to do while doing pre med reqs such as certain clubs or events to participate in. Thanks for the input!

Members don't see this ad.

Major in what you want.

And ~99% of those who get into med school have a bachelors by the time they start. I can't really speak about the other 1%.

I'll let others answer your remaining questions.

The it is likely the majority of students admitted without UG degree are extremely outstanding students recruited, sometimes pushed by their own UG profs, prior to completing a degree. These are the ones who have complete publications, done outstanding research, the over achievers who are on track to graduate at 21 with two degrees, etc.