Master the Boards step 2 vs. MTB step 3

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Waysensei

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd year student and I bought Conrad Fischer's Master the Boards step 3 as a study guide for step 2. Now, I'm told that there is a Master the Boards for step 2 out by the same author.

Has anyone read both of these and if so, what does the step 2 book provide that the step 3 book does not?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a 3rd year student and I bought Conrad Fischer's Master the Boards step 3 as a study guide for step 2. Now, I'm told that there is a Master the Boards for step 2 out by the same author.

Has anyone read both of these and if so, what does the step 2 book provide that the step 3 book does not?

The Step 2 version is directed at step 2. It focuses much more on systematically answering "what is the most likely diagnosis" followed by an explanation. IMO, it's better than the Step 3 book (this is also newer and a little more up to date). You don't have to read all the "order this next" "fast forward a couple of hours" - which to me were always distracting, because that wasn't the exam I was trying to study for

The Step 2 version is directed at step 2. It focuses much more on systematically answering "what is the most likely diagnosis" followed by an explanation. IMO, it's better than the Step 3 book (this is also newer and a little more up to date). You don't have to read all the "order this next" "fast forward a couple of hours" - which to me were always distracting, because that wasn't the exam I was trying to study for