Masters or just apply? need SERIOUS replies!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yjkimjane

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first time posting here after getting great amount of help and insights from all of you. June is coming and I am about to graduate, so I just needed some serious advice on my situation.

I am in my last quarter at UC Davis, and I have a 3.1 GPA overall, 3.0 for science. I was a biomed engi major for the first two years, and now I am a pharmaceutical chemistry major. I took my first DAT last November ( 23AA/22TS/22PAT) and was planning to retake it this summer. I'm a CA resident, but I'd go anywhere for dental school honestly. Working on my personal statement, had 200+ shadowing experience.

My question is, so I know my GPA is not strong at all... and I have seen a lot of posts about SMPs or 1,2 year masters program. I wanted to get more details on this and hear from people who have done this if there is any? Is there any way I could increase my undergrad GPA? What kind of masters program are there? Can you guys recommend me some? I heard about UCR, Western, etc, can someone get me more info about this?

Or should I just apply this cycle..?

I know there is probably a million similar posts, but please any help would be greatly appreciated!! T_T

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

This is my first time posting here after getting great amount of help and insights from all of you. June is coming and I am about to graduate, so I just needed some serious advice on my situation.