Matching and anesthesia rotation for FMG

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spaslam

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a Foreign Med student (American Citizen though) who is trying to land an elective at an Anesthesia program before rank time in Jan.

Does anyone know of FMG-friendly Anesthesia residency programs for medical students? I am having little luck on my own. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Also any ideas on a strategy for LORs until I get a gas rotation? is it possible to have NO LORs from anthesiologists and still get an interview? Any other advice would be helpful.

Members don't see this ad.

I think that getting a rotation is much easier than you think.
I am a foreign grad (but really foreign - non citizen) and I did two anesthesia rotations in the States.
And also when I was applying for a visiting student rotation I did not have any of the USMLE steps under my belt.
A lot of places will ask if you took step I.
Your best bet would be researching the school you want to rotate at - they should have a list of available visiting rotations and the requirements.
Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
There's a couple of issues:

1) It's almost October and you want to do a rotation by January. Most of the residencies have already filled their schedules with rotating medical students, and there may not be room at highly desirable programs for another student who's asking for the elective this late. You may end up getting the student rotations that are "left over" out of, well, not having anyone ask to rotate there. But that might turn out okay -- those are also the programs most likely to have a positive history of hiring FMG residents.