Matching into Derm without research fellowship or PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ckdgusdl88

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a prospective student at a top medical school strongly considering derm.
I would like to match into derm and begin my residency right after 4 years of medical school.

How realistic of a goal is it for a 4-year MD to match into derm?
How can I make myself a more attractive candidate against MD PhDs and those with research fellowships?

Obviously, gain as much research experience as possible (targetting for the number of publications), but any other tips or opinions? :)

Members don't see this ad.

The vast majority of applicants are "4 year MD". The MD PHD and research fellowship applicants are more rare than you might think.

Hi everyone,

I would like to match into derm and begin my residency right after 4 years of medical school.

How can I make myself a more attractive candidate against MD PhDs and those with research fellowships?

Obviously, gain as much research experience as possible (targetting for the number of publications), but any other tips or opinions? :)

But at my home program, the majority of the residents are either MD PhDs or people whove at least done a research fellowship... I would really hate to spend more time in med school than I have to...

Members don't see this ad :)
But at my home program, the majority of the residents are either MD PhDs or people whove at least done a research fellowship... I would really hate to spend more time in med school than I have to...

Your program shows you what it can take to Match...