MBBS in china, info about doing internship else where rather than china?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

njds13

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year mbbs student in mainland china and as many of you might know that you are required to do one year internship before graduation. Since due to many previous complaints from seniors that internship in china is a waste of time unless you are fluent in mandarin, you do not get hands-on experience and basically communication with patients and even doctors is the biggest issue, I'm worried and I would like to do the internship else where. Has anyone attempted this option? Can you give me information about the procedures and where is it preferable to do? Are you required to pass any exam?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

My name is Jeff Weil and I am the Region Medical Director for Kaplan here in Asia Pacific. I am currently planning a trip to China to speak with medical students on the USMLE and US licensing process of international graduates in early May.

If you don't mind me asking where are you studying and have you begun to think about the USMLE?

Hello,

My name is Jeff Weil and I am the Region Medical Director for Kaplan here in Asia Pacific. I am currently planning a trip to China to speak with medical students on the USMLE and US licensing process of international graduates in early May.

If you don't mind me asking where are you studying and have you begun to think about the USMLE?

Hello Jeff, and welcome to SDN!