MCAT and Physics Timing Helppppp!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cceph11

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm in a bit of an unusual situation with the regards to the timeline of my applications and wanted to see if I could get some feedback. I graduated from undergrad in June of 2011 and was initially planning to take 2 years off before going back to medical school. I went to an elite school in the northeast and graduated with a cumuluative gpa of 3.3 and a science gpa of 3.5. I was also a four year varsity athlete and worked as a TA and a peer tutor in the biology department (my major). I didn't decide to be premed or a biology major until the end of my sophomore year so I crammed in all my prereqs, with the exception of physics, during my last 2 years. It was very intense and, that on top of my athletic commitments, definitely had an impact on my GPA. I'm currently taking Physics and working at the medical school where I hope to attend. I'm from Texas originally so looking to attend school there.

I will finish my second semester of physics in the middle of July. My school has a reputation for doing quite well with medical school admissions but our premed counselor is notorious for having a very one dimensional perspective regarding the application process. She is not someone who will tell you there are many ways to get into medical school - it her way or nothing. I have been strongly advised by her to wait until I have finished second semester Physics to take my MCAT and then submit applications then. My concern is that this means my application won't be processed until August. So, I have a couple of questions.