MCAT prep

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dsportsdc

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would like to hear some opinions on proper prep for the MCAT. I am familiar with the plethora of possibilities available classes, books, etc). It seems that most take a prep course of some sort. I am particularly interested in hearing some results from any of you who did self study, what specifically it entailed, and how you fared (as well as what you would do differently if you thought it didn't go so well). Also, anyone who took a study course, what are the goods and bads with that method? HELP!

Members don't see this ad.

I graduated from college in May '98, and took the MCAT in April of '99. So it had been like 5 years since I'd taken general chemistry, and when I did I got a C! So I knew I needed a review course. I took the Kaplan class beginning in January '99. On the first day, they give you a sample test to see how you do with no preperation. I got a seven and two sixes! But at the end of the class, and after three months of studying I got three tens, and start med school this fall.

I highly recommend Kaplan's course. They provide textbooks for each of the five subjects (chem, bio, o-chem, physics, verbal/writing) that contain only the info you need to know. Plus you have classes taught by first year students who can tell you first hand what the MCAT is like. But the best feature is the Kaplan library, where you have resourses like practice problems, sample tests, and video reviews that really help. I agree with people who say you should take as many full-length practice tests as you can. They really help. And most of the people I talked to agree that the actual MCAT is EASIER that Kaplan's practice tests! So you feel really smart on the real test day! Good luck.

[This message has been edited by Mango (edited 05-04-2000).]

DO NOT TAKE PRINCETON REVIEW- TAKE KAPLAN!