Mcat Study Habits

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr.TurkandJD

One Dream
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I am new on here and just wanted to get your feedback. I graduated from college past June and have been slowly studying for MCAT's. Now that I set a date for April 13th, I have been studying a lot more and trying to get a really good schedule down. Here is my concern, I have been spending all my time reading the TPR books and rewriting information into my notebooks. I have not really practiced the problems or passages, because I am focusing on information. A few of my friends said that its more important to practice the passages and the questions instead of trying to learn everything from those books. It seems like its very hard to do passages and practice test-taking-skills when you don't know the material.

The way I learn the best, and how I studied in undergrad, was by re-writing everything, over and over again. This is very time consuming and I dont know if it is the best way to study for the MCAT's. I would really appreciate any feedback!

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Your friends are correct. The MCAT isn't like a regular undergrad exam and your study strategy should reflect this. Your method right now seems very inefficient considering that April 13th is less than 3 months away.