MD --> MD/PhD, advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

enolization

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am a student in the current application cycle and wanted your opinions and advice in assessing different career options. I have not yet submitted my primary application and I am debating whether to apply for MD or for MD/PhD programs. I guess this depends on what my career goals are: I want to obtain a medical education and practice medicine, but in addition I want to be involved in research and development in a non-trivial capacity.

An ideal would be to do both, but I am not sure which one I prefer. I think my areas of research interests are more in development of technology (medical devices, tissue engineering) than basic science/disease mechanisms (systems biology/informatics). I think that a PhD is not required to make a great scientist as anyone with hardwork, dedication, and a logical mind can do wonders.

The two options that I see are:
1. Go straight MD and pursue R&D either as a medical student or after medical school in residency/fellowship, including possibly taking time off. I am leaning towards this option.
2. Go into MD/PhD, and decide afterwards the balance of medicine/research that I want.

Some more pieces of information that are crucial. I am a non-traditional applicant. After my undergraduate, I obtained a Masters in biomedical engineering, which had an extensive independent research requirement. I feel like I have a pretty good handle on research, with 4 first-author publications, 3 more (1st-3rd) authored papers pending. As a result of all this, I am also fairly old (25 yrs old) and am worried that I will be getting greyed (26+8=34) by the time I settle into a profession (which is another reason why I don't mind not doing the PhD). A PhD will help, but I'm not sure if it is worth the time.