MD only vs MD/PhD for research oriented guy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Palaver87

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third year undergraduate and have been doing research for all three years and I absolutely love it. I have tried basic science research for 2 years and have moved on to a clinical research position. I know that I want to pursue a research oriented career in medicine in the future. However, I am not sure whether to apply to MD or MD/PhD programs for several reasons...

1) I feel that a PhD is not necessary to do research. I am wondering if you can just learn research technique on your own by being actively involved in labs during medical school, applying to research heavy residencies, and entering a fellowship. I feel that a PhD is really only there to win grants.

2) It seems that people who get MD/PhD's generally manage labs later in their career and most of their time is used up by writing grants and going to meetings. This seems more like a business perspective of marketing your research ideas and having little minions do your research rather than you taking an active involvement in making discoveries.

3) I see many MD only doctors actively participating in research at UCSF. How do you think this experience is different from MD/PhD people? Do you think the MD only people are less involved, only get the grunt work, etc?

4) Another side note is that I enjoy teaching. I have taught a stem cell class and will teach a patient-based neuroscience class next semester, so a comparison of faculty openings for MD's vs MD/PhD's would be greatly appreciated as well.

I hope I can get some honest and informative suggestions for my points from you guys who are clearly more familiar with the topic than I am. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.