MD/PhD Conducive to my Career Goals?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DeadCactus

Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I've posted here a few times looking for information to try and figure out if MD/PhD is a fit for me. I've spent a lot of time figuring out what it is I want to do (as best as I can tell at this point anyway) and now with a better picture in mind I'm hoping to get some input on if the MD/PhD is the path to take to reach these goals.

I'm an engineering undergrad and my interest in MD/PhD started with wanting to practice clinical medicine, but continueing to work with math and basic science.

I've spent a little time in a lab and so far I like it. I like the diversity of the projects going around, I like all the cool gadgets and equipment that are used, etc. After watching my PI for a bit, I've found I'm even interested in the other parts of being a PI: working with grad students, undergrads, and post-docs; publishing; conferences and keeping up with the literature, etc.

So I guess the real question is whether my research interests are conducive to the MD/PhD career. After spending a lot of time trying to define what I was interested in, I came to the conclusion that my interests are deeply refined yet, but they do have a common theme.