MD/PhD in EM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jd989898

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an MD/PhD student, and after a lot of shadowing and considering all of my options, I've decided I want to become an EM physician. I have not started the PhD portion of my program yet (the lab I plan to join does immunology research.) This is unfortunate, as I know the field of EM will make it especially difficult to establish a career with a basic science research component. My clinical interests just don't seem to match up with my research interests. What I'm wondering is if residency program directors will question my motives/judgement with a PhD in immunology. Most MD/PhDs go into IM, path, peds, neuro, etc. Having a background in basic science research can't HURT my residency prospects, can it?

Members don't see this ad.

Unlikely to hurt at most programs, but some people are weird and will have their biases when looking at your application. EM isn't a bastion of basic science research but I think that says more about the people typically attracted to EM than EM itself. I wouldn't be surprised if the wide breadth of clinical scenarios and forgiving schedule leave a lot of opportunity for basic science research.

Reactions: 1 user
Unlikely to hurt at most programs, but some people are weird and will have their biases when looking at your application. EM isn't a bastion of basic science research but I think that says more about the people typically attracted to EM than EM itself. I wouldn't be surprised if the wide breadth of clinical scenarios and forgiving schedule leave a lot of opportunity for basic science research.