MD/PhD Medical Physics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hobodog

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am curious if anyone has any suggestions on good medical schools which offer a medical physics related PhD opportunity (preferably in the therapy side (internal or external) but imaging is good too). I graduated with a BS in Engineering and a 3.11. I also obtained a two minors and finished 140 hours as an undergraduate in four years. I originally applied to a few medical schools during my fourth year but chose not to attend. I instead took the GRE (a V660 Q800) and entered a CAMPEP accredited Medical Physics master's program. In this program I will obtain 40 credits and write a thesis and will matriculate in December. In this program I am currently carrying a 3.65. I have a 35S MCAT (P12/V11/B12/S). I have researched under two different professors in my department (primarily computational). I also have a first authorship in Pediatric from work I did during the summer after my undergraduate.

During my MSMP program I have decided that I still want medicine and medical physics is no substitute. However I enjoy the research I am doing and would like to continue it. I am curious if anyone can provide suggestions for medical schools which might be able to offer a MD/PhD program along these lines (I am sure many can offer imaging programs).

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not exactly sure what medical physics is, but many schools offer biophysics as an area of study. If you want to go straight physics, I'd suggest UIC, U of Chicago, U of Florida, and Stanford. Those programs would allow you to apply to the physics department for your PhD. There are other schools that allow students to choose engineering, which might be a good fit, too.