MD/PhD or MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Arc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Right now I'm a sophomore in college, and I'm still a bit (actually a lot) undecided of what I want to do in medicine. I was wondering if you have the option of getting a MD only and still being able to pursue a physician scientist career path, or go into residency and take a specialty (i.e surgery) if I change my mind.
Is the application process the same?

Members don't see this ad.

Of course you have the option of doing a physician scientist path, if you get an MD first. It just depends how "much" of one you want to be. To get the full-fledged scientist training, get the PhD afterwards. Although it seems to me this happens rarely, considering you will be carrying a full debt load after MD graduation, and will most likely want to do the residency (and get board certification) so you can actually practice.

To get a "lite" version of scientist training, I believe there are MD/MS programs out there. I don't know much about them, there are people here that know more.

Of course you have the option of doing a physician scientist path, if you get an MD first. It just depends how "much" of one you want to be. To get the full-fledged scientist training, get the PhD afterwards. Although it seems to me this happens rarely, considering you will be carrying a full debt load after MD graduation, and will most likely want to do the residency (and get board certification) so you can actually practice.

To get a "lite" version of scientist training, I believe there are MD/MS programs out there. I don't know much about them, there are people here that know more.

So this means I can start research after I get the PhD, or will I have to go through some sort of 'residency' period before I can do research? Right now I just want to keep as many options open as possible.

Members don't see this ad :)