MD/PhD programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

b2007

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Would it be possible to be accepted to a MD/PhD program with a 3.0 GPA, 4.0 Graduate GPA, and 3 publications?

Members don't see this ad.

So if it is possible, is it also likely?

Thanks for the reply.

Members don't see this ad :)
depends on your MCAT score?

3.0GPA is kinda low for undergrad GPA, the 4.0 grad will help, the pubs are good, so it all depends on your MCAT and extracurriculars to determine how competitive of an applicant you are.

I'm new to the MD/PhD programs, and I have noticed that most schools accepts anywhere from 5-12 students. Is this the norm for these programs, and are there schools that accept more?

thanks!

WashU takes a lot of students, but that's because they are good at training physician scientists (and have $$). It's not safe to equate large number of students accepted with easy to get in.

If you haven't seen it already, www.intransit.us has some good info on MD/PhD programs.

I'm new to the MD/PhD programs, and I have noticed that most schools accepts anywhere from 5-12 students. Is this the norm for these programs, and are there schools that accept more?

thanks!

I think if there were special circumstances that lead to the 3.0, your chances could become better. Or for example if you had one or two really awful years, but improved later.

Overall, I think outstanding research experience and MCATs (in the 13s and above) might offset the undergrad GPA.

thanks!

I hope this isn't patronizing, but it isn't clear that you understand that just because the school "accepts" (i.e., matriculates) 5-12 students generally does not mean that they only accept (i.e., grant admission to) 5-12 students. Most schools accept 2 or 3 times that many because admittees choose to go elsewhere.