MD residency; DO student -- help.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

treeknowledge

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a DO student, and I'd like to get an MD residency. I know that being a DO student already puts me at a disadvantage. Realistically, what MD residencies (speciality, location, etc.) can I hope to match into? Moreover, how do I go about doing that?

Also, I have another small problem (haha). I've been to rehab twice and have two misdemeanors (possession of marijuana/controlled substance). That however, was in 2003/05. This proved to be a monstrous burden when getting into, or even acquiring an interview at any medical school, be it DO or MD. My grades and MCAT scores were really good (3.8, 33Q), but, obviously, that mattered little to MD schools, and for good reason -- I'm seen as a liability. So, given that when I start applying for residencies, this little blip on my otherwise clean record will be 9+ years behind me, how much of a problem will my past be? Can I even hope to get an MD residency?

Thanks in advance for some sound advice. :)

Members don't see this ad.

I don't recall residency doing a criminal record check during the application process, but they absolutely ask and check during state licensing and application for hospital privileges.

Get through med school, apply to the specialty that interests you, and deal with things one step at a time.

EDIT: Dude, you did jail time? That changes things.

No. I didn't do jail time. I was arrested twice -- booked, processed, released. Never any "jail time." My crimes weren't that bad, just possession of some pot and xanax (the controlled substance charge).