Mechanical engineering MS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Akashb

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have done MS in mechanical engineering from UF, gainesville. I have been working with a mechanical engineering company for the last 5 years. Medicine has always been at the back of mind. I took chemistry and physics courses during undergrad in mechanical engineering in India. Do they count towards the pre reqs for med school in US? Also, what other courses do I need to take prior to applying to a school? My understanding is that I need to take some course work along with MCAT to get in a med school. Any insights anyone? Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I have done MS in mechanical engineering from UF, gainesville. I have been working with a mechanical engineering company for the last 5 years. Medicine has always been at the back of mind. I took chemistry and physics courses during undergrad in mechanical engineering in India. Do they count towards the pre reqs for med school in US? Also, what other courses do I need to take prior to applying to a school? My understanding is that I need to take some course work along with MCAT to get in a med school. Any insights anyone? Thanks in advance.
you need to re-take these pre-med classes, and you also have to take Bio I & II, and Organic Chem I & II. Do a post bacc and study hard for the MCAT.