Medical interpreter

• Thread starter Deleted member 737595
  • Start date
This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

Deleted member 737595

I speak Spanish fluently and was thinking about taking up a role as a medical interpreter as my clinical experience. I have been volunteering at the hospital ED for a few months now and I have noticed many times when my ability to speak spanish would have served the staff well.

Is a job as a medical interpreter a> worth it? and b> decent clinical experience, or should I stick to volunteering? I'm speaking strictly about what medical schools want to see; is there any perk to doing translation?

Members don't see this ad.

It was really good clinical experience for me in that it was essentially primary care shadowing where I was actually somewhat useful to the physician. I really enjoyed it and being a native speaker it wasn’t challenging at all, but I did get a lot of patient contact out of it.

I did it as a volunteer so I wasn’t a paid interpreter. A lot of the paid positions are also just phone translation as opposed to in person.

Hey, so I am a full time spanish medical interpreter for a hospital, after having doing it since I was a freshman in undergrad

In terms of whether it is actually worth it, it is good clinical experience especially if you can get a job at a medium-large size hospital with many different specialties. As far as I know there are a lot of people who volunteer to be Spanish medical interpreters, but not that many with actual qualifications to be one. I can tell you that there is a difference between actually knowing the terminology vs being fluent. If you decide to take a class in that, that would be looked upon more favorable and would give more credibility to your spanish medical skills. But, rather than thinking whether adcoms would love it or not think about what your goals are and if that particular experience would help in your goals.