Medical School and Relationships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

honey0102

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Current MS2 (female) posting. Before anything I just want to say I promise I'm not trolling-this is a serious post.
To other med students/residents-what proportion of your class would you say was single? In undergrad, even my senior year, that was a high number. But now, in medical school, it seems like everyone around me is in a serious relationship, getting married, having kids, etc. I'm a traditional student (23 years old) and many of the people I mentioned are also. I'm very happy for my friends don't get me wrong, but I do feel like the oddball out-the only single woman among several married people with families. I often have no one to hang out with on post-exam evenings/weekends because that time is reserved for family-which I definitely understand.
Any other med students in a similar boat? Medical school is, as it is, stressful, and this kind of just adds to it. Is it common for people in medicine to meet their SO's after M2 year (ie M3, m4, residency)?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm in the same boat. I was wondering whether it's just because I'm the Midwest so I feel like people settle down here faster. I've actually talked to residents about this and I get the answer that roughly 80% of the class is married or in a serious relationship.

When MS1 started at my southern, suburban medical school the mix was about 50-50. By MS4 it was 75% coupled 25% single.

Of the coupled folks, I would say maybe 5-10% were married and very few had kids (4 in a class of 150ish), so socializing was rarely an issue.

Members don't see this ad :)
When MS1 started at my southern, suburban medical school the mix was about 50-50. By MS4 it was 75% coupled 25% single.