Medical student with a good idea- Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peanutbutter45654

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am a first-year medical student. I am very passionate about a specific cause, and I have an idea of something I want to do to benefit people in the community. At this point, I think there are two ways I could go about it:
1. Found a new club/organization within the med school
2. Start a nonprofit

I do not know much about starting nonprofits. Do you think this is a good idea? What route would you take? For reference, my idea involves working with kids/adolescents in the community, but I don't want to get into specifics to maintain privacy in case I actually do this. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Starting a nonprofit is not typically something a medical student does in their spare time. You're probably better off going the club/organization route while continuing to focus on your studies.

Reactions: 1 users
Hello everyone. I am a first-year medical student. I am very passionate about a specific cause, and I have an idea of something I want to do to benefit people in the community. At this point, I think there are two ways I could go about it:
1. Found a new club/organization within the med school
2. Start a nonprofit

I do not know much about starting nonprofits. Do you think this is a good idea? What route would you take? For reference, my idea involves working with kids/adolescents in the community, but I don't want to get into specifics to maintain privacy in case I actually do this. Thanks!
If you actually want to help people, it’s generally more effective to partner with an existing established non-profit. Running a non-profit is difficult and time consuming, and, as with small businesses in general, most non-profits fail relatively quickly.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)