Medicine school in France

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Oveeja

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
The title should have said France or Italy, sorry for that.

First an introduction:
I am a 17 year old student living in Mexico. I am going to end what would be highschool in about 2 months, and I am planning on studying medicine in either France or Italy in about two years. I speak Italian but my French isn't that good, if I decide on France, I would be leaving to go live there a year before entering school.
One big problem though, my highschool isn't science oriented because that area doesn't exist in the public educational system here. I am going to take a 6 month curse which prepares students for medical school, it is called "prepadéutico".
My questions are:
What do I need to apply for a Medical school in France and/or Italy? as in what would I need to send through the embassy to apply? and what are the subjects that would be asked for my application?

I have heard that the cost is very low and this is one of the main reasons I am interested in France. Is it the same price for foregin students as it is for French students?

How expensive is a University in Italy? I have read that the only two private schools are in Rome and they are a bit more expensive than the public ones, how much more expensive?

I have heard that it is very difficult to stay in medical school in France but what I am really worried about is getting accepted in the first place. How difficult is it to get accepted being a foreign student?

I really haven't heard much about Italy. Is it as competitive as France? How are their programs? and the same question as with France. What would my chances be to be accepted in Italy?