Mentors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scrubs421

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry, just venting (as usual).

But why is it so freaking difficult to find a mentor to take an interest in you? I mean we're med students, suppose to be colleagues one day. I'm nearing the end of M1 and I still do not feel like I have someone who I can consider a "real mentor". It took some work to find one in undergrad, but not like this! I don't understand the lack committment to helping guide young students into careers. Especially those (such as myself), interested in an academic, research/teaching career. I work in a lab and barely even see my PI! In undergrad, I had my PIs cell phone number, he took the lab out to lunch as a group once in a while. I just... don't understand, and I want to make sure I never, ever end up that way. Any one else feel the same?

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry, just venting (as usual).

But why is it so freaking difficult to find a mentor to take an interest in you? I mean we're med students, suppose to be colleagues one day. I'm nearing the end of M1 and I still do not feel like I have someone who I can consider a "real mentor". It took some work to find one in undergrad, but not like this! I don't understand the lack committment to helping guide young students into careers. Especially those (such as myself), interested in an academic, research/teaching career. I work in a lab and barely even see my PI! In undergrad, I had my PIs cell phone number, he took the lab out to lunch as a group once in a while. I just... don't understand, and I want to make sure I never, ever end up that way. Any one else feel the same?

Wait, you're a first year and you're complaining that you "still" don't have a mentor? Take a deep breath and relax...

Wait, you're a first year and you're complaining that you "still" don't have a mentor? Take a deep breath and relax...