Military Radiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jake2

Radiology Attending
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a radiology resident at a good residency program now. Something I've always wanted to do is a couple year stint in the military when I felt I was in a position where I could really do some good. I was thinking of joining for a two year commitment after my residency finished. I'm particularly interested in doing radiology in a front line CASH hospital where I think I might really be able to make an impact.

I was wondering, do radiologists in all branches of the military, army, navy, and air force wind up doing tours abroad or do most get put into a general pool and wind up working at base hospitals an VAs and such?

What are the odds I'd get a deployment if I requested? Is there any branch that is particularly better for it than the others? Just based on growing up around an air force base, I'd probably go for the air force as a first preference, but my guess is they probably supply fewer radiologists on actual tours.

Also, does anyone know what percentage of time spent on deployment is actually spent as a radiologist rather than a GMO? Are IR skills useful at all?

Thanks for any guidance!

Members don't see this ad.

AFPC, if you're not dead and already moldering, I send news to revive you. A fish to rival the fabled Leviathan has swum into our waters. Get well soon and we'll land it together. Your friend, AF M4.

Ummm.... huh?

Members don't see this ad :)
Ummm.... huh?

Quote from one of my favorite shows.