MISDIAGNOSIS? ATTN GI DOCS-What should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

J 1995

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am a pre-medical student who will be applying to medical school next year. Without going into too much detail I feel fairly confident in my ability to get in. I would love to do HPSP it has been a dream to join the military for me since I was little...

**Background. I am a very healthy collegiate athlete and firefighter. I used to have an inhaler for running when I was little but haven't used it in years. Since then I have done firefighting (which you cannot have asthma to do) and run 5Ks for the past 4 years no issues**

My question to you is about Military medicine. When I was 18, I became sick for about a week (fever, run down) and went to a walk in clinic where a doc (who barely took my medical history) prescribed me with a very intensive antibiotic. Long story short it messed up my GI tract and I ended up very sick. I was on antibiotics for weeks because this (*****) thought he should keep prescribing antibiotics for me to fix it.... (I didn't know any better). I was on them for a loooooong time.

I went away to school a month later and went to a GI who said you have Crohn's disease just based on my history. Then I had a colonoscopy where he said I had UC.... Then he said Crohn's only affects the inner most lining of the colon while Ulcerative colitis can occur in all the layers of the bowel walls, as well as other incorrect information. (At that point I had done my research and knew he was wrong). Then in the following visits, every time I went the guy would get more wrong (he'd also say I had Crohn's, then UC, then Crohn's then "you don't have a diagnosis" then who knows what) He put me on steroids, antibiotics, and Asacol all of which made me feel worse and very sick.