Misfill is stressing me out--how do you guys do it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HaleyRX

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't know what to do and I really need some advice. I am a tech at a super busy CVS. On Friday, we were getting constant faxes/emails about "PCI is not an option. Make your PCI calls"..I was making PCI calls in between drop-off customers, and we were getting slammed.
Somehow--and I NEVER make hardly any mistakes at drop-off, I really am a good tech--I typed a lithium script for the wrong patient, and it went on the profile of a 6 year old Hispanic child. The child also got his antibiotic, but also the lithium that should've been for someone else. The mom of the child spoke hardly any English.
When the lady came to pick up lithium, we couldn't find it, I pulled the hardcopy, and realized what happened. The script had already gone out the door. No valid phone number on file for the child, the dr's office wasn't answering (it was Friday afternoon)..one of our techs offered to drive to the patient's house (he was getting off) so I gave him my GPS and the address..our pharmacist overheard and made me stop the guy from going.
The pharmacist did eventually get in touch with the child's mom and she said the child was taking the medicine and doing fine. The Rph told her it was the wrong script and to bring it back.
The Rph has a severe speech impediment, however, and with the English/Spanish language barrier, I am very worried because...
The patient STILL HAS the lithium and this is SUNDAY NIGHT.