mph vs gap year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted841854

Hello,

I have been putting some thought into what I should do after graduation next spring. I do not plan on taking the MCAT this summer and have decided to take a few years off after my undergrad before applying to medical school. The question is what should I do with the time? Should I try and get into a good MPH program or just take a year or two off and focus on my mcat and shadowing and getting more clinical experience(I do not have any currently)? I am a chemistry major with a premed emphasis with a cum gpa: 3.80 and a science gpa: 3.93

I am a CA resident but go to a school out of state, and have been looking at a few UC programs that offer MPH. I was wondering if this would be worth more of my time rather than just take a few years off to study for mcat, work and get more clinical experience.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I have been putting some thought into what I should do after graduation next spring. I do not plan on taking the MCAT this summer and have decided to take a few years off after my undergrad before applying to medical school. The question is what should I do with the time? Should I try and get into a good MPH program or just take a year or two off and focus on my mcat and shadowing and getting more clinical experience(I do not have any currently)? I am a chemistry major with a premed emphasis with a cum gpa: 3.80 and a science gpa: 3.93

I am a CA resident but go to a school out of state, and have been looking at a few UC programs that offer MPH. I was wondering if this would be worth more of my time rather than just take a few years off to study for mcat, work and get more clinical experience.
Focus on acing the MCAT, work, and clinical experience.